Amersfoort Jazz 2020 festival program complete!

The Amersfoort Jazz 2020 festival program is complete and will soon be announced in its entirety.

To name some headliners: Boy Edgar Prize winner Jasper Blom (with the CvA Concert Big Band as well as with pianist Sebastiaan van Bavel), Eric Vloeimans with Licks & Brains, Ronnie Cuber (USA) with Trio Peter Beets, Margriet Sjoerdsma & Odelion Orchestra, Rob van de Wouw with the New Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra and ‘Hungarian Children Trains’, a special project featuring Manoushka Zeegelaar Breeveld and Izaline Calister.

This year’s Focus is on World Jazz from Hungary, with among others Peter Sarik, Santa Diver and Petra Varallyay. The latter is also one of the nine endorsed artists performing at the Sena Performers International Jazz Laureate Festival in Amersfoort, besides Kasia Pietrzko from Poland, Laura Marti from Ukraïne and Tontrakul from Thailand, to name a few. Young South-Korean drummer Sun-Mi Hong is National Artist in Residence and will perform five times at the festival, including once with Spanish pianist Daahoud Salim. Another Spanish pianist is Xavi Torres, playing solo and with Alto for Two, led by young saxophonists Kika Sprangers (NLD) and Irene Reig (ESP).

From Poland comes tenorist Sylwester Ostrowski with the International Jazz Brigade, ft. Essiet Okon Essiet International Artist in Residence, with a Tribute to Art Blakey. From Australia comes tenorost Adam Simmons with Origami; from Thailand comes altist Koh Mr.Saxman with Sound of Siam. All named saxophonists are festival curators at home, and will join Alexander Beets in his annual Director’s Invite. The last names that have been added are Efe Erdem, Artvark & Drums United. Tineke Postma (photo) with her TP Quartet and with fretless guitar virtuoso Erdohan Cenk (TUR). The festival is happy to announce for the first time The Rabobank Jazz Night at De Hof, featuring Madeline Bell with Peter Beets & The Henk Meutgeert New Jazz Orchestra, also featuring exponents of the Next Generation of Dutch Jazz Maarten Hogenhuis & Anna Serierse.

• Take a look at the Amersfoort Jazz YT channel
• Note to artists and agents: The deadline of submission of proposals was December first.
For submissions of proposals towards the edition of 2021, please wait for August – November 2020.